Your membership has expired, click here to renew!


News Releases

Date: 12/20/2013

Title: NCBA Announces National Anthem Contest Winner

DENVER - Oh, say, can you sing? Rylee Werth can, and will be singing at the 2014 National Cattlemen’s Beef Association Cattle Industry Convention. Werth will sing the National Anthem during the Opening General Session Tuesday, Feb. 4 and at the Grand Ole Opry House during the Cowboy’s Night at the Opry II.

Werth is an 11 year-old, Kansas native whose family has a 400-head, cow/calf operation in conjunction with a feedlot on the family farm. Actively involved in showing cattle at the local and national level, Werth hopes to continue her involvement by one day showing at the American Royal and National Western Stock Show.

“Congratulations to Rylee, her talent is outstanding,” said Scott George, NCBA president and Cody, Wyo. cattleman. “We knew our anthem contest was going to attract some great talent, but the number of votes collected was impressive. This convention is on pace to be one of the largest ever, and we hope cattlemen and women nationwide will join us for the events, education and grass-roots policy process.”

As the inaugural winner to the National Anthem Singing Contest, Werth will receive round-trip airfare for two to Nashville, a hotel room for three nights at the Gaylord Opryland Resort, free registration for two to the convention, and western wear from Roper and Stetson. Over 16,000 votes were cast through Facebook and to decide the winner.

NCBA’s convention and trade show is the oldest and largest convention for the cattle business. This year’s convention is held Feb. 4-7 and will feature meetings and events from the NCBA, Cattlemen’s Beef Board, CattleFax, National Cattlemen’s Foundation and the American National Cattlewomen. You can register online for the convention and book your hotel room at, or call (303) 694-0305. Registration is required to attend, and the deadline for early registration and a discounted price is Jan. 10, 2014.

Contact our Media Team

Ed Frank
Senior Director
Policy Communications

Steven Johnson
Associate Director
Policy Communications