Your membership has expired, click here to renew!


News Releases

Date: 2/7/2019

Title: Linda Davis Exemplifies Dedication to, Spirit of Cattle Industry

Linda Davis, a cattlewoman from Cimarron, N.M., has received the respected 2019 Swan Family Leadership Award for her decades of service to the cattle and beef industry. The award was made at the Best of Beef Breakfast Feb. 1 during the 2019 Cattle Industry Convention & NCBA Trade Show in New Orleans, La.
Davis has spent her entire life in service to the beef cattle industry. Her father, Albert Mitchell, was president of the American National Live Stock Association, a predecessor to the National Cattlemen’s Beef Association, in 1936-37, and taught her the value of industry involvement. After her mother died, she had principal roles both on the ranch and in the house.
In 1953 she married Les Davis and they had six children, all of whom work on the ranch today. Les died in 2001, and Linda did not skip a beat, keeping the ranch going while continuing her service to the industry. She has played roles in NCBA and related industry organizations throughout her life, including stints on the Cattlemen’s Beef Board, the Beef Promotion Operating Committee and the American National CattleWomen. She has also been a strong force in the New Mexico Cattle Growers Association and the National Cattlemen’s Foundation, serving as chair of the W.D. Farr Scholarship Committee.
The Swan Family Leadership Award is named for Bill and George Swan of Idaho and Utah, who each served in various local, state and national leadership positions before eventually being elected NCBA president. Bill Swan served as president in 1981, and his son, George, followed in his father’s footsteps as president in 1999. Both continued to serve the industry following their presidencies. Bill Swan passed away in 1997; George in 2001.
Established in 2001, the award honors worthy individuals who have made a difference to the beef industry through a lifetime of dedication and leadership. Recipients are judged on the length of service, breadth of service and the impact of their service and leadership to the beef industry.

Awards are determined by the NCBA Executive Committee and the president of the Idaho Cattlemen’s Association, and are not necessarily given on an annual basis. Last year the Swan Leadership Award was given to industry leaders John and Dee Lacey of California. Past winners have included W.D. Farr, Texas Governor Dolph Briscoe, Don Butler and Jo Ann Smith.

Contact our Media Team 

Steven Johnson
Associate Director
Policy Communications