Your membership has expired, click here to renew!

News Releases

Date: 2/6/2015

Title: Oregon Cattleman Honored With Max Deets Leadership Award

SAN ANTONIO, TEXAS - Keith Nantz of Maupin, Ore., has been awarded the Max Deets Leadership Award by the National Cattlemen’s Foundation for demonstrating outstanding leadership in the cattle industry. Nantz was recognized for his achievement at the Best of Beef Breakfast during the 2015 Cattle Industry Convention in San Antonio, Tex., Feb. 6.
The Max Deets Leadership Award is presented each year to the Young Cattlemen’s Conference chairman the previous year. It is named for Max Deets, a Kansas cattleman and industry leader who served as the president of the National Cattlemen’s Beef Association in 1997. He died in May, 2014. The award was established through contributions from the Kansas Livestock Association and the NCBA.
Nantz grew up in the small town of Imbler in Northeast Oregon, active in 4-H and FFA and dreaming of his own cattle operation. He is now in his sixth year as a cow-calf producer and hay grower in Maupin. Along with seedstock and commercial cow-calf cattle, the operation produces 3,500 tons of retail and feeder hay for local and export markets.
A graduate of Eastern Oregon University in Ag-Business, Nantz worked for the Forest Service as a wild land firefighter for eight years before starting his ranching business with partner John Dillon. He is active in his state and county cattlemen’s associations, and is also involved with the Oregon Agri-business Council with their Adopt-a-Farmer program. Among his passions in the cattle industry are genetics, nutrition, ecology, sustainability, business and policy.
The National Cattlemen’s Foundation is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization that advances the future of the cattle industry, providing scholarship opportunities to inspire young people to pursue careers in agriculture and offering a way for people to invest in the beef industry’s legacy and lifestyle.

Contact our Media Team 

Steven Johnson
Associate Director
Policy Communications